#5 Dusty Mink

October 7, 2010 § Leave a comment

Bonjour! C’est le trip de exchange de Mannequin World – ou, comme on dit en Français, le Monde des Mannequins. C’est-que c’est? Oh, merde. Alright, I’m not really my own cross-Channel twin. But I am looking pretty French with the Breton-striped dress and the navy beret. Actually, the hat was a present from my Mum when I was eight (I think) ahead of our first holiday to France. If she’d given me a string of onions, I’d be wearing that too.

The shrug is a handknit of my very own hand – from a design by Alice Bell. There’s a picture of it on the needles below, which gives a better idea of the cable texture. It was one of my first completed garments, and the fact that I still enjoy wearing it a couple of years later makes me ridiculously proud. The fact that it cost about £1.50 in charity shop wool, even prouder. Je suis un skate de cheap.

What I’m wearing

Dress, American Apparel (passed on by a friend)

Shrug, handmade from a Knitty pattern

Shoes, Lotus via TK Maxx

Beret, Boots

Tights, M&S (torn after one wear!)

Necklace, Tatty Devine (present from the lovely Mr Mink)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading #5 Dusty Mink at Mannequin World.

meta

